main page | historic homes | upcoming events | organizations
government | local history | links of interest | town directory | contact us

For La Grange, TN:



Fayette County, Tennessee

Form of Government:

Private Act Charter, Board of Mayor and Aldermen

One mayor and six aldermen with terms of two years. City Elections for the Board of Mayor & Aldermen are held on the second Tuesday of November of each even numbered year. The first charter of incorporation was granted by the TN General assembly in 1829.

Town Hall:

La Grange Town Hall
P. O. Box 621
20 Main Street
La Grange, TN 38046

8:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

Closed on Fridays and Holidays.

Phone: (901) 878-1246
Fax: (901) 878-1861



All officials may be contacted through Town Hall at the above address.

Board of Mayor & Aldermen…. Meets each Second Monday, 7:00 p.m., La Grange Town Hall.

Mayor: John Walker, Jr.
Vice-Mayor: Jill Worthey Cox

Eileen Cowan
Greg Kinney
Paul Ince
Rhonda Nolan
Earl Smith

City Recorder: Vera Downen

Planning Commission: Meets each Fourth Tuesday of the month, 7:00 p.m., La Grange Town Hall.

Chairperson: Jordan Northcross
Secretary: Jim Ballard
Mayor John Walker, Jr
Jill W. Cox                        Donna Gordon
Ron Elder                          Scott Thurner

Historic Zoning Commission: Meets each Fourth Thursday of the month, 7:00 p.m., La Grange Town Hall

Chairperson: Patty Crenshaw
Vice Chair/Secretary: Phil Wallace
Jourdan Rhea
Sarah Kitchens
Minetta Kinney
Jordan Northcross
Jim Nolan


Fire Chief: Doug Jackson

Assistant Chief: John Logan 

Police Officer: Ray Garcia

Water Dept. Supervisor: Robert Hensley

City Attorney: Tom Minor

Building Inspector: Bradley B. Halbrook

Fayette County Planning and Development Office
16802 Hwy 64, Somerville, TN 38068
Phone: (901) 465-5250


Public Works Director: Paul Davenport


La Grange has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1975. It contains designated Historic Districts which are governed by the Historic Zoning Commission Guidelines.

Other designations and regulations of Municipal Zoning exist which were enacted under the Municipal Zoning Ordinance passed in 1989. The Official Street Map and Major Road Plan for La Grange is registered at the Fayette County Register of Deeds Office, Fayette County Courthouse, 1 Court Square, Somerville, TN 38068.


The population per U.S. Census of 2010 is 133.

Land Area:

The corporate limits contain 2.2 square miles.

Property Tax:

The property tax for the Town of La Grange for the FY Year 2016 is $1.4464  per $100 assessed value.

Mail Service:

One U. S. Post Office, 30 Main St., serves the town and surrounding community.

main page | historic homes | upcoming events | organizations
government | local history | links of interest | town directory | contact us

© Town of LaGrange, Tennessee 2001; all rights reserved